The Entrepreneur In Heels

"It starts with an idea, that becomes a business, that becomes a success."

Be unique within yourself: Design your business around your lifestyle

with 13 comments

imagesCA0F08KT

If you’re looking to maximize your enjoyment while have the freedom and security that comes with knowing you have full control of your life, then a lifestyle business may be exactly what you need.    – Sean Ogle

As the owner of my financial consulting company, I wear a lot of hats and do the majority of the work myself. The one thing I want to achieve everyday is the satisfaction of waking up and doing what I love. Because it’s my business my priority is to serve my clients by going above and beyond their expectations. But, I also understand that my business must serve me as well.

Some might say designing your business around your lifestyle is unrealistic. But, I say it’s unrealistic to believe you will be successful in business if your lifestyle suffers.As a business owner we know that our day rarely ends at 5 o’clock. It’s up to us to decide how much of our lifestyle is affected when balancing it all.  Ask yourself what is important you, and take the steps to make sure these things are accomplished by designing your business to fit your lifestyle.

Start by asking questions that define your business

    1. What do you want to achieve in your business?
    2. Do you want to work alone or with a team?
    3. How fast or slow do you want your business to grow?
    4. What type of relationships do you want with customers?
    5. What sort of impact do you want to make in your industry?

 Ask questions that define your unique lifestyle

    1. How much revenue do you want to generate?
    2. Do you want to work from home or an outside office?
    3. Do you want to travel? How much or how little?
    4. Do you like want to work year around or have certain seasons off?
    5. Do you want to build relationships with customers?

To successfully combine business and  lifestyle, you must spend more time working on your businesses, not in it. Decide exactly how you will execute your daily task.  Identify what is important to your customers and apply an extra touch that makes you unique.  The most important thing with business and lifestyle is mindfulness of time. When I worked full-time in corporate banking, there never seemed to be enough free time. Many entrepreneurs make the mistake of carrying their work schedule from their job into their business.  Outsource or delegate task you do not specialize in. Creating time to enjoy your desired lifestyle will keep you enthusiastic and creative about your business, which ensures unlimited success.

Some benefits of building your business around your lifestyle

    1. Fast profit  – When you work for yourself, your overhead is lower.
    2. Location flexibility – You can choose to work from home an office space.
    3. Less stress – Though there’s a lot of pains when you’re a business owner, it’s less stressful when you’re not working somewhere for someone who you don’t want to.
    4. Flexible projects – You can stick to one thing or expand into as many different things you want.

What’s unique about all successful businessmen and businesswomen is that they have built their work around their lifestyle.  Don’t force things that don’t come naturally for you. This almost always leads to frustrations and disappointment. If you have chosen to start your own business, take the time to build an action plan that supports your unique lifestyle.

Written by Beverly S. Davis

May 6, 2013 at 11:02 am

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My brother suggested I might like this website.
    He was once totally right. This post actually made my day.
    You cann’t consider simply how so much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

  2. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of
    any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter
    updates. I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe
    you would have some experience with something like this.
    Please let me know if you run into anything.

    I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward
    to your new updates.

    trimming a tree

    August 4, 2014 at 8:48 am

  3. I don’t even know the way I ended up here, but I
    assumed this submit used to be great. I don’t recognise who you’re but definitely you are
    going to a well-known blogger should you are not already.
    Cheers!

    product Review

    August 5, 2014 at 2:40 pm

  4. I leave a response each time I appreciate a post on a website or I have something to valuable
    to contribute to the conversation. It is caused by the passion communicated in the post I read.
    And after this post Be unique within yourself: Design your business around your lifestyle | The Entrepreneur In Heels.
    I was actually excited enough to create a comment :
    -) I do have a couple of questions for you if you usually do not
    mind. Is it just me or does it seem like a few of the remarks look like they are coming
    from brain dead folks? 😛 And, if you are posting on other social sites, I would like to keep up
    with you. Could you make a list the complete urls of all your social
    sites like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

    a suddenly slimmer younger u

    September 8, 2014 at 1:54 am

  5. I blog often and I truly thank you for your information. Your article has really peaked my interest.

    I’m going to bookmark your website and keep checking
    for new details about once per week. I opted in for your Feed as well.

    garcinia optimal

    September 22, 2014 at 9:56 am

    • Thank you so much. I appreciate your comments and bookmark. Much continued success on your blog! 🙂

      Beverly S. Davis

      September 29, 2014 at 12:59 am

  6. We’re a group of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our community.
    Your site offered us with valuable information to work on. You’ve done an impressive job and our whole community
    will be grateful to you.

    • Thank you so much for reading and the kind words. I try to share what has helped me, hoping it will help someone else. I appreciate your comments. Best wishes to you and your community.

      Beverly S. Davis

      September 29, 2014 at 12:58 am

  7. After looking at a handful of the blog articles on your site, I really like your
    way of blogging. I saved as a favorite it to my bookmark site list and will be checking
    back soon. Please check out my web site as well and let me know your opinion.

  8. These are actually impressive ideas in regarding
    blogging. You have touched some fastidious points here.
    Any way keep up wrinting.

    Gregg

    September 25, 2014 at 2:53 pm

    • Thank you so much for reading and sharing your thoughts. I appreciate it. Much success to you!

      Beverly S. Davis

      September 29, 2014 at 12:53 am


Leave a Reply

